Enterprising Australia – planning, preparing and profiting from trade and investment

A short report on the proceedings of the Inquiry

Joint Standing Committee on

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

© Commonwealth of Australia 2002

ISBN 0 642 78419 1

Contents

Contents		ii				
Membership of the Committee - 40th Parliament						
	the Trade Sub-Committee - 40th Parliament					
Membership of the Committee - 39 th Parliament						
1 The Inq	uiry					
Introduction	on	1				
	iry Process					
	of the Commonwealth's Investment Promotion and Attraction Efforts					
A Nationa Regional Research Incentives	nd	8 12 15 17				
Appendix A	Submissions Received	23				
Appendix B	Public Hearing and Witness List					
Appendix C	Exhibits Received					
Appendix D	Recommendations from 'Winning Investment – Strategy, People and Partnerships'					
Appendix E Major National Issues Raised During Consultations in the Cours Blackburne Review						

Membership of the Committee – 40th Parliament

Chair Senator A B Ferguson

Deputy Chair Hon L J Brereton, MP

Members Senator A Bartlett (from 1/7/02)

Senator M Bishop (from 1/7/02 to 19/8/02) Senator the Hon N Bolkus (from 1/7/02)

Senator V W Bourne (to 30/6/02) Senator P H Calvert (to 19/8/02)

Senator H G P Chapman (to 30/6/02)

Senator the Hon P Cook

Senator A Eggleston (from 1/7/02)

Senator C Evans

Senator B Gibbs (to 30/6/02) Senator B Harradine

Senator S Hutchins (to 30/6/02; from

19/8/02)

Senator D Johnston (from 22/8/02) Senator J A L Macdonald Senator K O'Brien (from 1/7/02)

Senator M A Payne

Senator the Hon C Schacht (to 30/6/02)

Hon B G Baird, MP

Mr R C Baldwin, MP

Hon K C Beazley, MP Hon A R Bevis, MP Hon G J Edwards, MP Mr L D T Ferguson, MP

Mrs J Gash, MP

Mr D P M Hawker, MP

Hon D F Jull, MP Mr P J Lindsay, MP

Hon Dr S P Martin, MP (to 16/8/02)

Hon J E Moylan, MP Mr G R Nairn, MP

Hon L R S Price, MP Hon G D Prosser, MP

Hon B C Scott, MP

Hon W E Snowdon, MP Hon A M Somlyay, MP

Mr C P Thompson, MP

Secretary Mr Grant Harrison

Membership of the Trade Sub-Committee - 40th Parliament

Chair Hon B G Baird, MP

Deputy Chair Senator the Hon P Cook

Members Senator H G P Chapman (to 30/6/02)

Senator A Eggleston (from 12/7/02) Senator A B Ferguson (*ex officio*) Senator S Hutchins (to 30/6/02) Senator K O'Brien (from 6/8/02) Hon L J Brereton, MP (*ex officio*)

Mr D P M Hawker, MP

Hon D F Jull, MP

Hon Dr S P Martin, MP (to 16/8/02)

Hon J E Moylan, MP Mr G R Nairn, MP Hon G D Prosser, MP Hon B C Scott, MP Hon A M Somlyay, MP Mr C P Thompson, MP

Secretary Ms Jane Vincent

Administrative Officer Mrs Lesley Cowan

Membership of the Committee - 39th Parliament

Chair Senator A B Ferguson (from 1/7/99)

Senator D J MacGibbon (to 30/6/99)

Deputy Chair Mr C Hollis, MP (from 9/8/99)

Hon Dr A C Theophanous, MP (to 13/7/99)

Members Senator V W Bourne

Senator the Hon D Brownhill (from 1/7/99 to 13/4/00)

Senator P H Calvert (from 1/7/99)

Senator H G P Chapman Senator the Hon P Cook Senator B Gibbs (from 9/8/99)

Senator B Harradine

Senator S Hutchins (from 17/8/00) Senator J A L Macdonald (to 30/6/99)

from 9/5/00)

Senator K O'Brien

Senator M A Payne (from 1/7/99) Senator J A Quirke (to 15/8/00) Senator the Hon M Reynolds (to

30/6/99)

Senator the Hon C Schacht

Senator K Synon (to 30/6/99)

Ms F E Bailey, MP Hon B G Baird, MP Hon L J Brereton, MP Hon J A Crosio, MBE, MP (from

9/12/99)

Hon G J Evans, QC, MP (to 30/9/99)

Mr L D T Ferguson, MP (from 9/8/99)

Mr D P M Hawker, MP

Hon D F Jull, MP Mrs D M Kelly, MP

Hon L S Lieberman, MP Hon Dr S P Martin, MP Hon J E Moylan, MP

Mr P E Nugent, MP Hon N P O'Keefe, MP Hon L R S Price, MP Hon G D Prosser, MP

Mr C M Pyne, MP

Hon W E Snowdon, MP Dr A J Southcott, MP Hon A P Thomson, MP

Secretary Ms M Swieringa (from 15/6/99)

Mrs J Towner (to 11/6/99)

Membership of the Trade Sub-Committee - 39th Parliament

Chair Hon G D Prosser, MP (On leave from 3/9/99 to 10/12/99)

Senator the Hon D Brownhill (acting from 3/9/99 to 10/12/99)

Deputy Chair Hon N P O'Keefe, MP

Members Senator the Hon D Brownhill (from 1/7/99 to 13 April 2000)

Senator H G P Chapman Senator the Hon P Cook Senator A B Ferguson (ex officio)

Senator D J MacGibbon (ex officio) (to 30/6/99)

Senator K O'Brien Ms F E Bailey, MP Hon B G Baird, MP Mr C Hollis, MP Mrs D M Kelly, MP Hon J E Moylan, MP

Hon Dr A C Theophanous, MP (ex officio) (to 14/7/99)

Hon A P Thomson, MP

Secretary Ms Jane Vincent

Administrative Officers Ms Elena Hull

Mr Peter Ratas

Terms of Reference

Enterprising Australia – planning, preparing and profiting from trade and investment

The Trade Sub-Committee of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade is to examine and report on increasing Australia's trade and investment through initiatives for economic expansion, in particular:

- The role of development agencies in economic expansion such as the Industrial Development Agency in Ireland and the Economic Development Board in Singapore;
- Reasons for the success or otherwise of development agencies in establishing countries and regional areas as economic leaders;
- The comparative role of such development agencies to existing agencies in Australia;
- Incentives and impediments to foreign investment in Australia such as transport systems, taxation, telecommunications infrastructure, production costs, industrial relations structures, legal systems, federal systems of government and research and development initiatives;
- The adequacy of a skilled workforce in Australia particularly in new growth areas such as, though not limited to, financial services, information technology, E-business, education, pharmaceuticals and health care, and the competitiveness of that workforce; and
- Opportunities for encouraging inward investment and promoting export sales.

Referred in the 39th Parliament by the Minister for Trade on 2 November 2000.