

Appendix A - Program and List of Participants

REFORM OF THE UNITED NATIONS COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

FRIDAY 12 AUGUST 2005

09:00 am to 12:00 noon Committee Room 2S1

09:00 am Chair's Opening Statement

09:05 am SESSION 1

The Commission Today: Achievements, Shortcomings and

the Need for Reform

10:15 am Morning Tea

10:30 am **SESSION 2**

The Commission of the Future: The Current Reform Agenda and the Proposed Human Rights Council

12:00 pm Adjournment

Participants

Name	Position & Organisation
Mr Juan Carlos Brandt	Director, UN Information Centre, Australia and the Pacific (UNIC)
The Hon John Dowd AO, QC	President, Australian Section of the International Commission of Jurists (ICJ)
Mr Howard Glenn	Executive Director, Rights Australia Inc.
Professor Sarah Joseph	Director, Castan Centre for Human Rights Law, Monash University
Mr Craig Lenehan	Senior Legal Officer, Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission (HREOC)
Mr Keir Macdonald	Student intern at Australian Permanent Mission, Geneva during 61st session of Commission
Dr Penelope Mathew	Reader, Centre for Public and International Law, Australian National University
Mr Paul O'Callaghan	Executive Director, Australian Council for International Development (ACFID)
Ms Kathy Richards	Policy Officer, ACFID
Ms Tessa Scrine	Australian Baha'i Community
Ms Rebecca Smith	Advocacy Coordinator, Amnesty International Australia
Mr Neill Wright	Regional Representative, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
The Hon John Von Doussa	President, HREOC