В

Appendix B - Witnesses

Monday, 16 June 2003 - Canberra

Attorney-General Department

Mr Stephen Bouwhius, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Mr David Baird, General Manager, Australian Search and Rescue

Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Ms Jean Ffrench, Director, International (ILO) Section

Mr Phillip Knight, Assistant Director, International (ILO) Section, Workplace Relations Policy and Legal Group

Department of Family and Community Services

Mr Roger Barson, Assistant Secretary, International Branch

Mr Peter Hutchinson, Director, Agreements, International Branch

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Lucy Charlesworth, Director, European Union Section

Mr Alan Fewster, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Ms Janaline Joo-Pek Oh, Director, United Nations and Commonwealth Section

Mr Phillip Stonehouse, Director, India and South Asia Section

Ms Margaret Twomey, Assistant Secretary, Northern, Southern and Eastern European Branch

Mr Russell Wild, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Ms Clare Guenther, Policy Officer

Mr Andrew Tongue, First Assistant Secretary, Transport Security Division

Mr Jim Wolfe, Assistant Secretary, Maritime Security

Department of Treasury

Mr Raphael Cicchini, Senior Adviser International, Superannuation, Retirement and Savings Division

Mr Nigel Murray, Manager, International Superannuation, Retirement and Savings Division

Monday, 23 June 2003 - Canberra

Attorney-General Department

Mr Greg Manning, Principal Legal Officer, Public International Law Branch, Office of International Law

Ms Rebecca Irwin, Assistant Secretary, Public International Law Branch, Office of International Law

Australian Fisheries Management Authority

Mr David Alden, Manager, Eastern Tuna and Billfish Fishery

Mr Leslie Roberts, Manager, Eastern Tuna and Billfish Fishery

Department of Agriculture Fisheries & Forestry

Dr John Kalish, Program Leader, Fisheries and Marine Sciences, Bureau of Rural Sciences

Mr James Lee, Acting Director, International Fisheries

Department of Education, Science and Training

Mr David Ray, Europe, Americas, Japan and Korea Unit

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr George Atkin, Assistant Secretary, Pacific Islands Branch, Pacific, Africa and Middle East Division

Mr Alexander Brooking, Director, Northern, Central and Eastern Europe Section

Mr Alan Fewster, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Ms Emma Kerslake, Executive Officer, Pacific Regional Section, Pacific Islands Branch, Pacific, Africa and Middle East Division

Ms Kathy Klugman, Director, East Timor Section

Mr Peter McColl, Director, United States Section, Americas Branch

Mr Colin Milner, Director, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Mr Chris Moraitis, Senior Legal Adviser

Mr Mark Scully, Executive Officer

Mr Andrew Serdy, Executive Officer, Sea Law, Environmental Law and Antarctic Section

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr Mark Burness, Director, Medicare Eligibility Section, Medicare Benefits Branch

Mr Craig Rayner, Assistant Director, Medicare Eligibility Section, Medicare Benefits Branch, Medicare Eligibility Section

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Mr John Hartwell, Head, Resources Division

Mr Ian Walker, Manager, Timor Sea Team, Resources Division

Department of the Treasury

Mr Michael Buckley, Manager, Business Income Division, Resources and Environment Tax Unit Business Income Division