# B

# **Appendix B - Witnesses**

# Monday, 26 July 2004 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Stephen Bouwhuis, Principal Legal Officer, Office of International Law

### Australian Customs Service

Mr John Arndell, Acting National Manager, Trade Branch

Ms Lyndall Milward-Bason, Manager, Origin, Trade Branch

# Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Mr William Withers, Manager, Asia and APEC Section, Trade Policy Branch, Market Access and Biosecurity Business Group

# Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts

Ms Gabrielle Crick, Deputy Director

Mr Michael Moynihan, Assistant Director

Mr Philip O'Brien, Policy Officer

Mr Bill Scott, Director, Trade Policy Section

# Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Margaret Adamson, Assistant Secretary, European Union and Western Europe Branch

Mr Justin Brown, Ambassador for the Environment

Dr Greg French, Assistant Secretary, Legal Branch, International Organisations and Legal Division

Mr Peter Hooton, Director, Middle East Section

Ms Kathy Klugman, Assistant Secretary, Mainland South-East Asia and South Asia Branch, South East Asia Division

Mr Paul Panayi, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Mr Bill Paterson, First Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia Division

Ms Leanne Smith, Executive Officer, Sea Law, Environment Law and Antarctic Policy Section, Legal Branch, International Organisations and Legal Divison

Dr Simon Twisk, Director, Industrials and Market Access Section

#### Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Ruth Gallagher, Manager, Tariff and Trade Policy, Trade and International Branch

#### Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr Nicholas Bogiatzis, Assistant Secretary, Transport Markets, Policy and Research Group

Mr Wayne Kelly, Assistant Director, International Aviation

Mr Iain Lumsden, Director, International Aviation

#### Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries

Mr Andrew McKellar, Director, Government Policy

Mr Peter Sturrock, Chief Executive

# Monday, 9 August 2004 - Canberra

#### Attorney-General's Department

Mr Christopher Creswell, Copyright Law Consultant, Copyright Law Branch

Ms Helen Daniels, Assistant Secretary, Copyright Law Branch

Ms Kirsti Haipola, Senior Legal Officer, Copyright Law Branch

Mr Christopher Hodges, Principal Legal Officer

Mr Mark Jennings, Senior Counsel, Office of International Law

Mr Geoff Skillen, Principal Legal Officer, Public International Law Branch, Office of International Law

#### **Department of Agriculture Fisheries & Forestry**

Mr Michael Alder, Manager, Wine Policy, Crops, Wine and Horticulture, Food and Agriculture

#### Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Peter Hunter, Executive Officer, Pacific Islands Branch

Mr Paul Panayi, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Mr Richard Sadleir, Assistant Secretary, International Organisations Branch

Mr Steve Thom, Executive Officer, International Organisations Branch

Mr Damian White, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section

#### **Department of Treasury**

Mr Mark Sewell, Senior Adviser, Pacific and Assistance Division

#### Food Standards Australia New Zealand

Mr James Gruber, Principal Food Technologist

Mr John Taylor, Senior Legal Adviser

#### Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Craig Lenehan, Acting Director, Legal Section

# Tuesday, 10 August 2004 - Canberra

#### Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoff Skillen, Principal Legal Officer, Public International Law Branch, Office of International Law

#### Australian Defence Force

Air Commodore Simon Harvey, Director General, Australian Defence Force Legal Service

#### **Department of Defence**

Group Captain Michael Maher, Director of Joint Operations, Strategic Operations Division

Mr David Mason, Director of Operations and International Law

Air Commodore Lee Roberts, Director General Workforce Planning Recruitment and Retention

#### **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade**

Mr Paul Panayi, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat

Mr Richard Sadleir, Assistant Secretary, International Organisations Branch

Mr Steve Thom, Executive Officer, International Organisations Branch