Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples

Issue date: 28 March 2018

Finding common ground and a way forward for Indigenous recognition

A new committee met yesterday, to further consider matters regarding recognition of Australia's indigenous people, and will be co-chaired by Senator Patrick Dodson, Senator for Western Australia, and Mr Julian Leeser MP, Member for Berowra.

The <u>Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait</u>
<u>Islander Peoples</u> is expected to report by the end of November this year, with an interim report due in July.

The Committee is calling for submissions and is considering options for public meetings and hearings.

Co-Chairs Senator Dodson and Mr Leeser MP said:

'As a committee, we are looking for common ground and ways forward on these critical matters for Australia's future. We hope to hear from Australians about the next steps for recognition of First Nations peoples. We plan to consult widely, starting with First Nations leadership. We understand that a great deal of work has already been done: the job of this committee is to build on that work and to now take the next steps.'

The <u>Committee website</u> has details of Committee membership, and will be the first point of information about the work of the Committee.

Written submissions should be received by **Monday 11 June**, to assist with planning meetings and hearings, but the Committee may accept submissions after this date.

Media enquiries:

Senator Patrick Dodson (Western Australia), Co-Chair of the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 0401 951 676

Mr Julian Leeser MP (Berowra, New South Wales), Co-Chair of the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 04 5011 6011

For background information:

Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 02 6277 4129, jsccr@aph.gov.au

Interested members of the public may wish to track the committee via the <u>website</u>. Click on the blue 'Track Committee' button in the bottom right hand corner and use the forms to login to My Parliament or to register for a My Parliament account.

Media release issue date: 28 March 2018