



Electoral Commissioner

Our Ref: 16/469

Mr David Monk Inquiry Secretary Joint Standing Committee for Electoral Matters Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Dear Mr. Monk

Correction to evidence

I am writing to correct evidence provided at a public hearing of the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC).

On 18 November 2016 (Proof Hansard page 10) Marie Nielson, Australian Electoral Officer and State Manager for Western Australia, gave evidence that 20 polling places were identified for abolition in the Division of Durack, and eight polling places were closed due to the 2015 polling places assessment strategy. These figures are incorrect. The AEC actually identified 26 polling places in the Division of Durack and abolished 11.

I also wish to take the opportunity to provide the Committee with information about Senate formality rules. At the hearing on 18 November 2016 (Proof Hansard page 37) Ms Gemma Whiting, appearing in a private capacity, gave the following evidence:

This election had inherent problems with the changes to formality. I think the new formality system created problems. For example-and I did note it in my submission-three years ago, if you had a voter intention below the line '1 Greens' and then a voter intention above the line of '1 Labor', the AEC would rule that the voting intention is inconsistent and not clear and the vote is informal, because you cannot create a valid intention from what the voter has done. In this election, they would say, 'No, below the line takes precedence to above the line and therefore the below-the-line vote counts if it is formal 1 through to 6.

Section 269(2) of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 (Electoral Act) provides that if a Senate ballot paper is marked both above and below the line, the below the line vote is counted providing it is formal. The provision specifying below the line votes taking precedence has been in the Electoral Act since 1983.

Finally, <u>Attachment B1</u> to this letter replaces <u>Attachment B1</u> provided in the AEC's supplementary submission of 25 November 2016 (answers to questions taken on notice from 16 and 17 November 2016).

Yours sincerely

Tom Rogers

Z December 2016

Attachment B1 14 November 2016 Hobart

[Note: this table replaces the table provided in the AEC's supplementary submission of 25 November 2016]

Possible multiple voting by state and division (numbers of apparent multiple voting first notices sent)

Division	Multi-voter Numbers	Division	Multi-voter Numbers
	New Sou	uth Wales	
BANKS	157	MACARTHUR	188
BARTON	184	MACKELLAR	108
BENNELONG	153	MCMAHON	211
BEROWRA	138	MACQUARIE	125
BLAXLAND	182	MITCHELL	125
BRADFIELD	163	NEWCASTLE	97
CALARE	107	NEW ENGLAND	100
CHIFLEY	222	NORTH SYDNEY	122
СООК	130	PAGE	130
COWPER	112	PARKES	116
CUNNINGHAM	124	PARRAMATTA	174
DOBELL	110	PATERSON	118
EDEN-MONARO	133	REID	172
FARRER	130	RICHMOND	115
FOWLER	218	RIVERINA	96
GILMORE	134	ROBERTSON	117
GRAYNDLER	153	SHORTLAND	123
GREENWAY	163	SYDNEY	145
HUGHES	145	WARRINGAH	123
HUME	93	WATSON	257
HUNTER	127	WENTWORTH	154
KINGSFORD SMITH	188	WERRIWA	209
LINDSAY	157	WHITLAM (New)	127
LYNE	85	Total NSW	6 760

Victoria

ASTON	114	HOTHAM	156
BALLARAT	89	INDI	77
BATMAN	152	ISAACS	145

Attachment B1

14 November 2016 Hobart

[Note: this table replaces the table provided in the AEC's supplementary submission of 25 November 2016]

Division	Multi-voter Numbers	Division	Multi-vote Numbers
BENDIGO	97	JAGAJAGA	101
BRUCE	184	KOOYONG	138
CALWELL	213	LALOR	194
CASEY	104	LA TROBE	98
CHISHOLM	142	MCEWEN	140
CORANGAMITE	83	MCMILLAN	86
CORIO	119	MALLEE	58
DEAKIN	135	MARIBYRNONG	191
DUNKLEY	124	MELBOURNE	143
FLINDERS	111	MELBOURNE PORTS	141
GELLIBRAND	151	MENZIES	142
GIPPSLAND	64	MURRAY	111
GOLDSTEIN	100	SCULLIN	201
GORTON	168	WANNON	68
HIGGINS	123	WILLS	150
HOLT	190	Total Vic	4 800
	Quee	nsland	
BLAIR	96	HINKLER	59
BONNER BOWMAN	101	KENNEDY	62
	79	LEICHHARDT	104
BRISBANE	98	LILLEY	109
	83	LONGMAN	93
DAWSON	81	MCPHERSON	89
	74	MARANOA	75
	82	MONCRIEFF	103
	80	MORETON	124
FISHER	72	OXLEY	135
	102	PETRIE	115
FORDE	84	RANKIN	157
GRIFFITH	118	RYAN	122
GROOM	87	WIDE BAY	79
HERBERT	50	WRIGHT Total Qid	79 2 792

Attachment B1

14 November 2016 Hobart

[Note: this table replaces the table provided in the AEC's supplementary submission of 25 November 2016]

Division	Multi-voter Numbers	Division	Multi-vote Numbers
Salesso as the			
	Western	Australia	
BRAND	114	HASLUCK	94
BURT	152	MOORE	95
CANNING	99	O'CONNOR	114
COWAN	137	PEARCE	104
CURTIN	96	PERTH	100
DURACK	93	STIRLING	139
FORREST	65	SWAN	132
FREMANTLE	118	TANGNEY	124
		Total WA	1776
	South	Australia	
ADELAIDE	162	MAKIN	132
BARKER	88	MAYO	104
BOOTHBY	128	PORT ADELAIDE	173
GREY	79	STURT	135
HINDMARSH	153	WAKEFIELD	141
KINGSTON	119	Total SA	1 414
	Tası	mania	
BASS	66	FRANKLIN	70
BRADDON	68	LYONS	70
DENISON	85	Total Tas	359
	Australian Ca	apital Territory	
CANBERRA	132	FENNER	132
		Total ACT	264
	Northe	ern Territory	
LINGIARI	77	SOLOMON	101
		Total NT	178
		NATIONAL TOTAL	18 343