

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT

Inquiry into the Register of Environmental Organisations

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 13 July 2015

Chair: Alex Hawke MP Deputy Chair: Tony Zappia MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4580

Facsimile: 02 6277 4424

Email: environment.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/environment

Public hearing for inquiry into the Register of Environmental Organisations

The House Environment Committee will conduct a public hearing in Brisbane on Tuesday, 14 July 2015 as part of its inquiry into the Register of Environmental Organisations.

Representatives from environmental organisations, industry bodies and other interested parties will appear before the Committee.

Details of the public hearings are as follows:

Time: 9:00 am

Date: Tuesday, 14 July 2015

Location: Podium Room 4, Rydges South Bank, 9 Glenelg Street, South Brisbane

9.00 am	Gecko-Gold Coast and Hinterland Environment Council Association
9.25 am	Senator Matthew Canavan
9.50 am	Queensland Resources Council
10.15 am	Queensland Murray-Darling Committee Inc.
10.55 am	Queensland Trust for Nature
11.20 am	Wildlife Preservation Society of Queensland
	Wildlife Land Fund Limited
11.55 am	Australian Marine Conservation Society Inc.
1.20 pm	Great Barrier Reef Foundation
1.45 pm	Queensland Conservation Council
2.10 pm	Basin Sustainability Alliance (via teleconference)
2.35 pm	Ecological Society of Australia
3.15 pm	Property Rights Australia Inc.
3.40 pm	Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association

Audio from the hearings will be webcast at: http://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_Parliament.

Submissions to the inquiry, including those from the organisations appearing at this hearing, are available at: http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary Business/Committees/House/Environment/REO/Submissions.

Further details about the inquiry, including submissions received and the terms of reference, can be found on the inquiry's website at: http://www.aph.gov.au/reo.

For media comment please contact the Committee Chair, Mr Alex Hawke, on (02) 9899 7211 (electorate office)

For further information please contact the secretariat on (02) 6277 4580, email environment.reps@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee's website at http://www.aph.gov.au/environment.