Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples

Issue date: 5 June 2018

## Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition to hold public meetings in the Kimberley

The <u>Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait</u>
<u>Islander Peoples</u> is holding a series of public meetings in the Kimberley region of Western Australia during the week commencing Monday, 11 June.

The Committee is looking forward to meeting members of the community in Kununurra, Halls Creek, Broome, and Fitzroy Crossing. The Committee is keen to discuss whether there should be constitutional recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and what form that might take. They are also interested in what consultation and engagement processes are in place to enable communities to have a say on government policies that affect them and how effective these processes are.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the meetings. Representatives of community organisations who would like to share their views with the Committee are encouraged to contact the secretariat on 02 6277 4129 or <a href="mailto:iscr@aph.gov.au">iscr@aph.gov.au</a>.

The Committee was established in March 2018 and is co-chaired by Senator Patrick Dodson, Senator for Western Australia, and Mr Julian Leeser MP, Member for Berowra.

## Meeting details:

Kununurra, 8.00am – 10.30am, Monday, 11 June, Kununurra Council Chambers Halls Creek, 2.30pm – 4.00pm, Monday, 11 June, Civic Hall, Shire of Halls Creek Kununurra, 8.00am – 10.00am, Tuesday, 12 June, Kununurra Council Chambers Broome, 2.00pm – 4.00pm, Tuesday, 12 June, Unit 1, 23 Coghlan St, Djugun Fitzroy Crossing, 9.30am – 11.00am, Wednesday, 13 June, Fitzroy River Lodge

## Media enquiries:

Senator Patrick Dodson (Western Australia), Co-Chair of the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 0401 951 676

Mr Julian Leeser MP (Berowra, New South Wales), Co-Chair of the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 04 5011 6011

## For background information:

Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 02 6277 4129, jsccr@aph.gov.au

Interested members of the public may wish to track the committee via the <u>website</u>. Click on the blue 'Track Committee' button in the bottom right hand corner and use the forms to login to My Parliament or to register for a My Parliament account.

Media release issue date: 5 June 2018