

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Migration Amendment (Removal and Other Measures) Bill 2024

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 15 April 2024

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

| Time | Witness |
|----------|---|
| 9.00 am | Panel: Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 68) Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher, President Ms Emily Rutherford, Senior Lawyer |
| | Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 18) Ms Sanmati Verma, Acting Legal Director Ms Laura John, Senior Lawyer Ms Piumetharshika Kaneshan |
| 10.00 am | Law Council of Australia (Submission 71) Mr Greg McIntyre SC, President (via videoconference) Ms Carina Ford, Chair, Migration Law Committee, Federal Dispute Resolution Section (via videoconference) Ms Leonie Campbell, General Manager Ms Sarah Fisher, Member, Migration Law Committee, Federal Dispute Resolution Section (via videoconference) |
| 10.45 am | Tea break |
| 11.00 am | Panel: Dr Abul Rizvi PSM (via teleconference) |
| | Mr Peter Hughes PSM |
| 11.45 am | Panel: Refugee Council of Australia (via videoconference) (Submission 41) Mr Paul Power, Chief Executive Officer |
| | Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (Submission 59) Ms Rachel Saravanamuthu, Legal Policy Lead Mrs Parichehr (Betia) Shakiba, Lawyer |
| | Immigration Advice and Rights Centre (via videoconference) (Submission 72) Mr Joshua Strutt, Chief Executive Officer and Principal Solicitor Ms Stephanie Lee, Senior Solicitor |
| | Refugee Advice and Casework Service (via videoconference) (Submission 73) Ms Isobel McGarity, Supervising Senior Solicitor Mr Ahmad Sawan, Supervising Senior Solicitor |
| | |

| 12.45 pm | Lunch |
|----------|--|
| 1.15 pm | Panel: Queensland African Communities Council (Submission 6) Mr Benny Bol OAM, President |
| | Kurdish Society of Queensland (via teleconference) (Submission 33) Dr Hassan Sonboli, President |
| | Zimbabwe Australia Cultural Association (Submission 34) Ms Haatsari Marunda, Member |
| | Australian Iranian Community Alliance (via teleconference) (Submission 74) Mr Nader Zoljalali, Board Member |
| 2.30 pm | Tea break |
| 2.45 pm | Department of Home Affairs (Submission 75) Ms Stephanie Foster, Secretary Mr Michael Thomas, Group Manager, Immigration Compliance Group Ms Sandra Jeffery, Assistant Commissioner, Immigration Compliance Group Ms Clare Sharp, Group Manager, Legal Mr Kevin Cunnington, Assistant Secretary, Legislation Ms Tara Cavanagh, Group Manager, Immigration Policy |
| | Operation Sovereign Borders Rear Admiral Brett Sonter, Royal Australian Navy, Commander Joint Agency Task Force - Operation Sovereign Borders |
| 4.00 pm | Adjournment |