

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE MURRAY-DARLING BASIN PLAN

Murray-Darling Basin Plan

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 29 September 2015

St George

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Balonne Shire Council and local businesses/community members Balonne Shire Council Cr Donna Stewart, Mayor Dirran Ag Spares Mr Andrew McCosker, Employee Mr Bruce Connolly Mrs Tanya Connolly Dirranbandi Foodstore Mr Col Qi, Sole Proprietor Mr Bruce Vaughan Mr Errol Morris, business owner/operator Grant Murphy Pty Ltd Mr Grant Murphy, Sole Proprietor Mr Gregory Nicol Mr Jonathan Burrell Dirranbandi Motor Inn Mr Mark Anderson, Owner Mr Phillip Stacey, Partner Mr Stephen Burnett Ms Samantha O'Toole Chamber of Commerce Mr John Travers Queensland Cotton Mr Ben Suttor
10.30 am	Break
10.45 am	Panel - Councils Western Downs Regional Council Goondiwindi Regional Council Maranoa Regional Council

Committee Chair: Senator David Leyonhjelm Committee Secretary: Mark Fitt PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: +61 2 6277 3555 Fax: +61 2 6277 3899 Email: <u>seniorclerk.committees.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>https://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees</u> <u>/Senate/Management_and_Execution_of_the_Murray_Darling_Basin_Plan</u>

11.30 am	Panel - Irrigators Cotton Australia Mr Michael Murray, General Manager Smartrivers Mr Donald Crothers, Secretary Mr Chad Prescott, Member Mr Ian Todd, Co. Chairman Mr Frank Deshon, Co. Chairman Border Rivers Food & Fibre Mr Tim Napier, Executive Officer
12.30 pm	Lunch
1.15 pm	Panel - Community representatives Lower Balonne Floodplain Association Mr Ed Fessey, Chair Mr Rory Treweeke, Member Kamilaroi Land Trust Mr Ronald Waters, Tustee Western Rivers Alliance Ms Sarah Moles Northern Basin Advisory Committee Mr Mal Peters, Chair
2.00 pm	Queensland Government (Department of Natural Resources and Mines) Sunwater
	Queensland Murray-Darling Committee
3.00 pm	Adjournment