Appendix 2 Public hearings

Friday, 21 December 2021 Parliament House, Canberra

Professor Nicholas Aroney, Private capacity [by video link]

Mr Mark Fowler, Private capacity [by video link]

Australian Discrimination Law Experts Group

Ms Robin Banks, Member

Dr Cristy Clark, Member

Mr Liam Elphick, Member

Dr Alice Taylor, Member

Australian Christian Lobby

Mrs Wendy Francis, National Director, Politics

Australian Federation of Islamic Councils

Dr Rateb Jneid, President

Mr Keysar Trad, Chief Executive Officer [by video link]

Australian National Imams Council

RAUF, Mr Bilal, Spokesperson and Adviser [by video link]

Muslim Women Australia

Mrs Maha Krayem Abdo, Chief Executive Officer [by video link]

Christian Schools Australia Limited

Mr Mark Spencer, Director of Public Policy

Australian Association of Christian Schools

Mrs Vanessa Cheng, Executive Officer [by video link]

Australian Christian Higher Education Alliance

Mr Mark Sneddon, Executive Director, Institute for Civil Society and Legal Representative, Australian Christian Higher Education Alliance [by video link] Reverend Doctor Ross Clifford, Principal, Morling Theological College [by video link] Mr Nick Jensen, Political Liaison

Council on the Ageing Australia

Mr Corey Irlam, Deputy Chief Executive

Executive Council of Australian Jewry

Mr Peter Wertheim, Co-Chief Executive Officer [by video link]

National Catholic Education Commission

The Hon. Jacinta Collins, Executive Director Ms Sally Egan, Deputy Director

Equality Australia

Ms Anna Brown, Chief Executive Officer [by video link]

Mr Ghassan Kassisieh, Legal Director [by video link]

Equal Voices

Ms Elise Christian, Advocacy Spokesperson [by video link]

FamilyVoice Australia

Mr Gregory (Greg) Bondar, NSW/ACT State Director and Religious Discrimination Bill Project Leader [by video link]

Human Rights Law Alliance

Mr John Steenhof, Principal Lawyer [by video link]

Thursday, 13 January 2022 Parliament House, Canberra

Independent Education Union

Ms Christine Cooper, Acting Federal Secretary [by audio link]

Mr John Spriggs, Senior Industrial Officer, Queensland and Northern Territory Branch [by audio link]

Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia

Ms Beth Blackwood, Chief Executive Officer

Reverend Chris Ivey, National Chair

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference

Archbishop Peter Andrew Comensoli, Chair, Bishops Commission for Life, Family and Public Engagement

Professor Rocque Reynolds

Mr Jeremy Stuparich, Deputy General Secretary

Seventh Day Adventist Church

Pastor Michael Worker, General Secretary and Director of Public Affairs and Religious Liberty, [by video link]

Australian Industry Group

Mr Stephen Smith, Head of National Workplace Relations Policy [by video link]

Diversity Council

Ms Lisa Annese, Chief Executive Officer [by video link]

Ms Catherine (Cathy) Brown, Director, Communications and Advocacy [by video link]

Presbyterian Church of Australia

Reverend Doctor John McClean, Convenor, Church and Nation Committee [by video link]

Reverend Christopher Duke, Member, Church and Nation Committee [by video link]

Public Affairs Commission of the Anglican Church of Australia

Dr Carolyn Tan, Chairperson [by video link]

Anglican Diocese of Sydney

Right Reverend Doctor Michael Stead, Bishop of South Sydney, Chair of the Religious Freedom Reference Group, [by video link]

Australian Women's Health Network

Dr Helen Keleher, Deputy Chair [by video link]

Ms Emma Iwinska, Board Member, Australian Women's Health Network; and Chief Executive Officer, Women's Health and Equality Queensland [by video link]
Ms Dianne Hill, Board Member, Australian Women's Health Network; and Chief Executive Officer, Women's Health Victoria [by video link]

Australian Medical Association

Dr Omar Khorshid, Federal President, Australian Medical Association [by video link]

Friday, 14 January 2022 Parliament House, Canberra

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Lori-Anne Sharp, Acting Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation [by video link]

Dr Micah Peters, National Policy Research Adviser, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation [by video link]

Dr Terri MacDonald, Director, Policy and Research, National Tertiary Education Union [by video link]

Mr Liam O'Brien, Assistant Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions [by video link]

Ms Sophie Ismail, Legal and Industrial Officer [by video link]

Freedom for Faith

Associate Professor Neil Foster, Board Member [by video link]

Institute for Civil Society

Mr Mark Sneddon, Executive Director [by video link]

Australian Human Rights Commission

Ms Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner [by video link] Emeritus Professor Rosalind Croucher, President [by video link] Mr Graeme Edgerton, Deputy General Counsel [by video link]

Law Council Australia

Ms Leonie Campbell, Deputy Director of Policy

Ms Katherine (Kate) Eastman, SC, Chair of Law Council of Australia Equal Opportunity Committee

Mr Simeon Beckett, Co-Chair, Human Rights Committee, New South Wales Bar Association; and Law Council of Australia

Disability Voices Tasmania

Fiona Strahan, Spokesperson on the Religious Discrimination Bill [by video link] Ms Robin Banks, Adviser [by video link]

Women's Health Tasmania

Ms Josephine Flanagan, Chief Executive Officer [by video link]

Unions Tasmania

Ms Jessica Munday, Secretary [by video link]

Equality Tasmania

Mr Rodney Croome, AM, President [by video link]

Multi-Cultural Council of Tasmania

Mr Dattaraj Mahambrey, Chairperson [by video link]

Uniting Church in Australia Assembly

Ms Sharon Hollis, President [by video link]

Ms Claerwen Little, National Director, UnitingCare Australia [by video link]

Uniting Network Australia

Mr Jason Masters, Co-Convenor [by video link]

Mr Elliot Nicholas, Spokesperson [by video link]

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Stephen Still, Assistant Secretary, Employment Standards Branch [by video link] Mr Colin Minihan, Acting Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Branch [by video link] Mr Andrew Walter, Acting Deputy Secretary, Integrity and International Group [by video link]