

Appendix B – Witnesses appearing at private and public hearings

Friday, 15 August 2014 – Canberra, ACT (private hearing)

Australian Secret Intelligence Service

Mr Nick Warner, Director-General Deputy Director-General, Operations Deputy Director-General, Capability and Corporate Management General Counsel

Friday, 15 August 2014 – Canberra, ACT (public hearing)

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Jamie Lowe, A/g First Assistant Secretary, National Security Law and Policy Division

Ms Annette Willing, National Security Legal Advisor, National Security Law and Policy Division

Ms Christina Raymond, Senior Legal Officer, National Security Law and Policy Division

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr David Irvine AO, Director-General Ms Kerri Hartland, Deputy Director-General

Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Dr Vivienne Thom, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Jake Blight, Assistant Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Monday, 18 August 2014 - Canberra, ACT (public hearing)

Australian Lawyers Alliance

Mr Greg Barns, spokesperson and former National President

Civil Liberties Councils across Australia

Dr Lesley Lynch, Secretary, NSW Council for Civil Liberties Mr Bill Rowlings OAM, CEO, Civil Liberties Australia

Electronic Frontiers Australia

Mr Jon Lawrence, Executive Officer Dr Roger Clarke, Life Member

Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law

Professor George Williams Dr Nicola McGarrity Mr Keiran Hardy

Law Council of Australia

Mr Stephen Keim SC, Member of the Law Council's National Human Rights Committee

Ms Leonie Campbell, Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division

Dr Natasha Molt, Policy Lawyer, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division

Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance

Mr Christopher Warren, Federal Secretary Mr Mike Dobbie, Communications Manager, Media Section

Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Privacy Commissioner Ms Angelene Falk, Assistant Commissioner

Monday, 18 August 2014 - Canberra, ACT (private hearing)

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Michael Rothery, A/g Deputy Secretary, National Security and Criminal Justice Group

Ms Annette Willing, National Security Legal Advisor, National Security

Law and Policy Division
Ms Christina Raymond, Senior Legal Officer, National Security Law and Policy Division

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Ms Kerri Hartland, Deputy Director-General
Deputy Director-General
First Assistant Director-General, Corporate and Security
First Assistant Director-General, Counter Espionage and Interference
First Assistant Director-General, Office of Legal Counsel
Assistant Director-General, Legislation, Warrants and Technical
Capabilities