

Appendix B – Witnesses appearing at private and public hearings

Thursday, 2 October 2014 – Canberra, ACT (public hearing)

Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Dr Vivienne Thom, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Jake Blight, Assistant Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Friday, 3 October 2014 – Canberra, ACT (public hearing)

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Jamie Lowe, First Assistant Secretary

Mr Cameron Gifford, Assistant Secretary, National Security Law and Policy Division

Ms Margaret Close, Acting Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch

Miss Julia Galluccio, Principal Legal Officer, National Security and Foreign Fighters Taskforce

Ms Karen Horsfall, Principal Legal Officer, National Security and Foreign Fighters Taskforce

Australian Customs and Border Protection Service

Mr Roman Quaedvlieg, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Border Enforcement

Australian Federal Police

Assistant Commissioner Neil Gaughan, National Manager Counter Terrorism

Ms Elsa Sengstock, Coordinator, Legislation Program

Australian Human Rights Commission

Professor Gillian Triggs, President

Mr Timothy Wilson, Human Rights Commissioner

Mr John Howell, Lawyer

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Ms Kerri Hartland, Deputy Director-General

Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Richard Glenn, Acting Commonwealth Ombudsman

Ms Erica Welton, Acting Senior Assistant Ombudsman

Councils for Civil Liberties

Mr Stephen Blanks, President, NSW Council for Civil Liberties

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Julie Heckscher, Assistant Secretary, Sanctions, Treaties and Transnational Crime Legal Branch

Ms Anne Moores, Assistant Secretary, Passport Business Improvement and Integrity Branch

Ms Amanda Gorely, Corporate Counsel

Department of Immigration and Border Protection

Mr Peter Vardos, Deputy Secretary, Client Services Group

Ms Stephen Allen, First Assistant Secretary, Border, Refugee and Onshore Services Division

Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law

Professor George Williams

Dr Nicola McGarrity

Mr Keiran Hardy

Law Council of Australia

Mr Phillip Boulten SC, Member, National Criminal Law Committee

Dr Natasha Molt, Policy Lawyer, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division

Ms Leonie Campbell, Co-Director, Criminal Law and Human Rights Division

Friday, 3 October 2014 – Canberra, ACT (private hearing)

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Jamie Lowe, First Assistant Secretary

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Duncan Lewis AO DSC CSC, Director-General

Ms Kerri Hartland, Deputy Director-General

Assistant Director-General Middle East and Africa

Australian Federal Police

Commissioner Andrew Colvin APM AOM

Assistant Commissioner Neil Gaughan, National Manager Counter Terrorism

Wednesday, 8 October 2014 – Canberra, ACT (public hearing)

Australian Crime Commission

Mr Chris Dawson APM, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Paul Jevtovic APM, Executive Director, Operations

Ms Kathryn McMullan, Acting Executive Director, Strategy and Specialist Capabilities

Australian Defence Association

Mr Neil James, Executive Director

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Mr Nathan Kennedy, President

Individuals

Mr Bret Walker SC

Dr David Connery

Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Privacy Commissioner

Ms Angelene Falk, Assistant Commissioner

Muslim Legal Network (NSW)

Mr Ertunc Yasar Ozen, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Turkish

Advocacy Alliance; Member, Muslim Legal Network

Mrs Lydia Shelly, Solicitor/Executive

Mr Moustafa Kheir, Member