Ε

Appendix E – Witnesses appearing at public and private hearings

Wednesday, 17 December 2014 (public hearing)

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Katherine Jones, Deputy Secretary

Ms Anna Harmer, A/g First Assistant Secretary

Mr Simon Lee, A/g Director

Australian Crime Commission

Mr Christopher Dawson, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Kathryn McMullan, National Manager

Australian Federal Police

Mr Andrew Colvin, Commissioner

Mr Michael Phelan, Deputy Commissioner National Security

Mr Tim Morris, Assistant Commissioner, National Manager High Tech Crime Operations

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Ms Kerri Hartland, A/g Director-General

Australian Mobile Telecommunications Association

Mr Chris Althaus, Chief Executive Officer

Communications Alliance

Mr John Stanton, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Peter Froelich, Industry Member

Mr Michael Elsegood, Industry Member

Wednesday, 17 December 2014 (private hearing)

Australian Crime Commission

Ms Kathryn McMullan, National Manager

Australian Federal Police

Mr Michael Phelan, Deputy Commissioner National Security

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Ms Kerri Hartland, A/g Director-General First Assistant Director-General, Counter Espionage and Interference

First Assistant Director-General, Counter-Terrorism

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Katherine Jones, Deputy Secretary Ms Anna Harmer, A/g First Assistant Secretary

Thursday, 29 January 2015 (public hearing)

Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity
Mr Michael Griffin AM, Integrity Commissioner
Ms Sarah Marshall, Executive Director, Operations
Mr Nick Sellars, Executive Director, Secretariat
Ms Penny McKay, Principal Lawyer
Australian Communications Consumer Action Network
Ms Narelle Clark, Deputy Chief Executive Officer
Ms Katerina Pavlidis, Grants and Research Officer
Australian Computer Society
Ms Brenda Aynsley, President
Mr Athol Chambers, Manager, Federal and State Government Relations
Australian Human Rights Commission
Professor Gillian Triggs, President
Ms Bronwyn Barnes, Lawyer
Australian Information Industry Association
Ms Susan Campbell, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Suzanne Roche, General Manager, Policy and Advocacy

Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Mr Greg Tanzer, Commissioner

Mr Chris Savundra, Senior Executive Leader, Market Enforcement

Mr David Lusty, Special Counsel

Electronic Frontiers Australia

Mr Jon Lawrence, Executive Officer

Internet Society of Australia

Mr Laurie Patton, Chief Executive Officer

Mr George Fong, President

Ms Holly Raiche, Chair, Policy Committee

Joint Media Organisations

Ms Georgia-Kate Schubert, Head of Policy and Government Affairs, NewsCorp

Mr Mark Hollands, Chief Executive, The Newspaper Works

Ms Sarah Kruger, Senior Lawyer, SBS

Ms Julie Flynn, Chief Executive Officer, Free TV Australia

Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

Mr Timothy Pilgrim, Australian Privacy Commissioner

Ms Angelene Falk, Assistant Commissioner

Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Colin Neave, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Richard Glenn, Deputy Ombudsman

Ms Erica Welton, Director, Inspections and Law Enforcement

Office of the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Dr Vivienne Thom, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Mr Jake Blight, Assistant Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Telstra

Mrs Jane van Beelen, Executive Director

Mr James Shaw, Government Relations

Mr Michael Burgess, Chief Information Security Officer

Mrs Kate Hughes, Chief Risk Officer

Vodafone Hutchison Australia

Mr Matthew Lobb, General Manager, Industry Strategy and Policy

Friday, 30 January 2015 (public hearing)
Attorney-General's Department
Mr Chris Moraitis, Secretary
Ms Anna Harmer, A/g First Assistant Secretary
Mr Simon Lee, A/g Director
Australian Crime Commission
Ms Kathryn McMullan, National Manager
Australian Federal Police
Mr Michael Phelan, Deputy Commissioner National Security
Deputy Commissioner Graham Ashton, Capability
Assistant Commissioner Tim Morris, National Manager High Tech Crime Operations
Australian Privacy Foundation
Mr David Lindsay, Vice-Chair
Dr Roger Clarke, Past Vice-Chair
Australian Security Intelligence Organisation
Mr Duncan Lewis, Director-General of Security
Bravehearts
Mrs Hetty Johnston, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Miss Carol Ronken, Research Manager
Councils for civil liberties across Australia
Mr Michael Cope, President, Queensland Council for Civil Liberties
Dr Lesley Lynch, Secretary, New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties
Mr Hugo de Kock, Member, Liberty Victoria
Individuals
Professor George Williams
Law Council of Australia
Mr Duncan McConnel, President
Mr Peter Leonard, Chairperson of Law Council of Australia (Business Law) Media and Communications Committee
Ms Olga Ganopolsky, Chair, Privacy Law Committee, Business Law Section
Mr Matthew Dunn, Director of Policy
Dr Natasha Molt, Senior Policy Lawyer, Criminal Law

Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance

Mr Christopher Warren, Federal Secretary

Mr Paul Murphy, Director, Media

New South Wales Police

Assistant Commissioner Malcolm Lanyon, Commander, Special Services Group

Detective Superintendent Arthur Kopsias, Commander, Telecommunications Interception Branch

Optus

Mr David Epstein, Vice President

Mr Michael Elsegood, Manager, Regulatory Compliance and Safeguards

South Australia Police

Assistant Commissioner Paul Dickson, Crime Service

Victoria Police

Inspector Gavan Segrave, Intelligence & Covert Support Command

Monday, 9 February 2015 (private hearing)

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Katherine Jones, Deputy Secretary Ms Anna Harmer, Assistant Secretary Mr Daniel Abraham, Director Mr Gregory Sadler, Senior Legal Officer