The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Inquiry into the Development of Northern Australia

Interim Report

Joint Select Committee on Northern Australia

June 2014 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2014

ISBN 978-1-74366-172-7 (Printed version)

ISBN 978-1-74366-173-4 (HTML version)

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Australia License.



The details of this licence are available on the Creative Commons website: <u>http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/au/</u>.

Contents

| Membership of the Committee | . V |
|-----------------------------|-----|
| Terms of reference | vii |
| List of abbreviations | .ix |

REPORT

| 1 | Inquiry into the Development of Northern Australia—Interim Report1 | | |
|---|--|----|--|
| | Background | 1 | |
| | Committee's Role | 2 | |
| | Previous Reviews | 2 | |
| | 2030 Vision for Developing Northern Australia | 4 | |
| | White Paper Process | 5 | |
| | Timing of Green Paper | 6 | |
| | About the Review | 6 | |
| | Objectives and Scope | 6 | |
| | Inquiry Conduct | 7 | |
| | Progress to Date | 7 | |
| | Reporting Timeframe | 8 | |
| | Issues Raised | 9 | |
| | Economic and Social Opportunities to Develop Northern Australia | 9 | |
| | Types of Development Proposals | 10 | |
| | Impediments to Development | | |

APPENDICES

| Appendix A – Submissions | 15 |
|---|----|
| Appendix B – Exhibits | 25 |
| Appendix C – Witnesses appearing at public hearings | 31 |

Membership of the Committee

Chair Hon Warren Entsch MP

Deputy Chair Hon Alannah MacTiernan MP

Members Senator Sue Boyce Mr George Christensen MP Senator Alan Eggleston Hon Gary Gray AO MP Mrs Natasha Griggs MP Senator Hon Jan McLucas Senator Deborah O'Neill Ms Melissa Price MP Senator Rachel Siewert Hon Warren Snowdon MP

Participating Members

Senator Chris Back Senator Hon Kate Lundy Senator Cory Bernardi Senator Hon Ian Macdonald Senator John Madigan Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Mark Bishop Senator Gavin Marshall Senator Hon Ronald Boswell Senator Anne McEwen Senator Carol Brown Senator Bridget McKenzie Senator Claire Moore Senator David Bushby Senator Hon Doug Cameron Senator Barry O'Sullivan Senator Hon Kim Carr Senator Stephen Parry

Senator Hon Jacinta Collins Senator Hon Stephen Conroy Senator Sam Dastyari Senator Sean Edwards Senator Hon Don Farrell Senator Hon John Faulkner Senator David Fawcett Senator Mark Furner Senator Alex Gallacher Senator Hon Bill Heffernan Senator Helen Kroger Ms Michelle Landry MP Senator Sue Lines Senator Hon Joe Ludwig Senator Nova Peris OAM Senator Helen Polley Senator Louise Pratt Senator Anne Ruston Senator Zed Seselja Senator Hon Lisa Singh Senator Dean Smith Senator Dean Smith Senator Hon Ursula Stephens Senator Glenn Sterle Senator Hon Lin Thorp Senator Mehmet Tillem Senator Anne Urquhart Senator John Williams

Committee Secretariat

| Secretary | Mr Peter Stephens | |
|----------------------------|-------------------------|--|
| | (until 09.04.2014) | |
| | Ms Stephanie Mikac | |
| | (A/g from 10.04.2014) | |
| Inquiry Secretaries | Dr John Carter | |
| | Dr Bill Pender | |
| Senior Research Officer | Ms Loes Slattery | |
| Administrative Officers | Ms Megan Peile | |
| | Ms Carissa Skinner | |

Terms of reference

The Committee to consider policies for developing the parts of Australia which lie north of the Tropic of Capricorn, spanning Western Australia, Northern Territory and Queensland, and in doing so:

- examine the potential for development of the region's mineral, energy, agricultural, tourism, defence and other industries;
- provide recommendations to:
 - o enhance trade and other investment links with the Asia-Pacific;
 - establish a conducive regulatory, taxation and economic environment;
 - o address impediments to growth; and
 - o set conditions for private investment and innovation;
- identify the critical economic and social infrastructure needed to support the long term growth of the region, and ways to support planning and investment in that infrastructure.

The Committee to also present to the Parliament its recommendation for a white paper which would detail government action needed to be taken to implement the committee's recommendations, setting out how the recommendations were to be implemented, by which government entity they were to be implemented, a timetable for implementation and how and when any government funding would be sourced.

The Committee is due to present an interim report to Parliament on the activities of the Committee as soon as practicable after **30 May 2014**, with particular reference to the outcomes of public hearings held across Northern Australia, and any specialist knowledge emanating from the public submissions process. The Committee is due to deliver its final report and recommendations to the Parliament on or before **6 July 2014**.

List of abbreviations

| CDU | Charles Darwin | University |
|-----|----------------|------------|
| | | |

- CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
- DIDO Drive-in, Drive-out
- FIFO Fly-in, fly-out
- JCU James Cook University
- LNG Liquefied Natural Gas
- NT Northern Territory
- ONA Office of Northern Australia
- RDA Regional Development Australia
- UWA University of Western Australia
- WA Western Australia
- WALGA Western Australian Local Government Association